Dressing is a way of life!
Yves Saint Lauren

Be daring, be different, be impractical, be anything that will assert of purpose and imaginative vision against the play-it-safers, the creatures of the commonplace, the slaves of the ordinary!
Cecil Beaton

Who can live without some black clothes!
Karl Lagerfeld

Elegance is a question of personality, more than one’s clothing!
Jean Paul Gaultier

Actually I am very glad that people can buy Armani – even if it’s a fake! I like fact that I’m so popular around the world!
Giorgio Armani

A fashion that does not reach the streets is not a fashion!
Coco Chanel

We must never confuse elegance with snobbery!
Yves Saint Lauren

This is what I think is modern. It’s like wearing a couture jacket with a pair of jeans!
Karl Lagerfeld

Bad taste is better than no taste!
Diana Vreeland

As you, see, fashion means different things to different people!
Anna Wintour
If you are not in fashion, you are nobody!
Lord Chesterfield

Fashion is never in crisis because clothes are always necessary!
Achille Maramotti

Style is knowing who you are, what you want to say and not giving a damn!
Gore Vidal

The dress must follow the body of a woman, not the body following the shape of the dress!
Hubert de Givenchy

I did not have three thousands pairs of shoes. I had one thousand and sixty!
Imelda Marcos

A good model can advance fashion by ten years!
Yves Saint Lauren

Ready-to-wear – that means “ready to wear”!
Christian Lacroix

Fashion is the science of appearances, and it inspires one with the desire to seem rather than to be!
Edwin Hubbel

The difference between style and fashion is quality!
Giorgio Armani

We must never confuse elegance with snobbery!
Yves Saint Lauren

You can not take yourself too seriously!
Karl Lagerfeld

I wish I had invented blue jeans. They have expression, modesty, sex appeal, simplicity – all I hope for in my clothes!
Yves Saint Lauren

In order to be irreplaceable one must always be different!
Coco Chanel

A fashion is merely a form of ugliness so unbearable that we are compelled to alter it every six months
Oscar Wilde

All the American women had purple noses and gray lips and their faces were chalk white from terrible powder. I recognized that the United States could be my life’s work
Helena Rubinstein

A designer is only as good as the star who wears her clothes
Edith Head

About half my designs are controlled fantasy, 15 percent are total madness and the rest are bread-and-butter designs
Manolo Blahnik

When in doubt, wear red
Bill Blass

I don’t do fashion, I am fashion
Coco Chanel

They think him the best dressed man, whose dress is so fit for his use that you cannot notice or remember to describe it
Ralph Waldo Emerson

I don’t design clothes. I design dreams
Ralph Lauren

A woman’s dress should be like a barbed- wire fence: serving its purpose without obstructing the view
Sophia Loren

Fashion is architecture. It is a matter of proportions
Coco Chanel

The goal I seek is to have people refine their style through my clothing without having them become victims of fashion
Giorgio Armani

Be not the first by whom the new are tried, nor yet the last to lay the old aside
Alexander Pope

I like fashion to go down to the street, but I can’t accept that it should originate there
Coco Chanel

In difficult times fashion is always outrageous
Elsa Schiaparelli

Fashion anticipates, and elegance is a state of mind … a mirror of the time in which we live, a translation of the future, and should never be static
Oleg Cassini

The novelties of one generation are only the resuscitated fashions of the generation before last
George Bernard Shaw

Fashion is more usually a gentle progression of revisited ideas
Bruce Oldfield

Fashion is the science of appearances, and it inspires one with the desire to seem rather than to be
Edwin Hubbel

I base my fashion sense on what doesn’t itch
Gilda Radner

Chanel is composed of only a few elements, white camellias, quilted bags and Austrian doorman’s jackets, pearls, chains, shoes with black toes. I use these elements like notes to play with
Karl Lagerfeld

Looking cool without looking like you are trying

Chloe Sevigny

Art produces ugly things which frequently become beautiful with time. Fashion, on the other hand, produces beautiful things which always become ugly with time
Jean Cocteau

Fashion is what you adopt when you don’t know who you are
Quentin Crisp

The dress must follow the body of a woman, not the body following the shape of the dress
Hubert de Givenchy

Fashion is something barbarous, for it produces innovation without reason and imitation without benefit
George Santayana

Today, fashion is really about sensuality—how a woman feels on the inside. In the ’80s women used suits with exaggerated shoulders and waists to make a strong impression. Women are now more comfortable with themselves and their bodies—they no longer feel the need to hide behind their clothes
Donna Karan

Respect is love in plain clothes
Frankie Byrne

Problems are only opportunities in work clothes
Henry J. Kaiser

The lamb began to follow the wolf in sheep’s clothing
Aesop

Common sense is genius dressed in its working clothes
Ralph Waldo Emerson

She wears her clothes as if they were thrown on witha pitchfork.
Jonathan Swift

When his wife asked him to change clothes to meet the German Ambassador: If they want to see me, here I am. If they want to see my clothes, open my closet and show them my suits
Albert Einstein

Clothes don’t make a man, but clothes have got many a man a good job
Herbert Harold Vreeland

Only men who are not interested in women are interested in women’s clothes. Men who like women never notice what they wear
Anatole France

Although golf was originally restricted to wealthy, overweight Protestants, today it’s open to anybody who owns hideous clothing
Dave Barry

While clothes may not make the woman, they certainly have a strong effect on her self-confidence — which, I believe, does make the woman
Mary Kay Ashe

The dress is a vase which the body follows. My clothes are like modules in which bodies move
Pierre Cardin

I wear my sort of clothes to save me the trouble of deciding which clothes to wear
Katharine Hepburn

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.
Mark Twain

The expression a woman wears on her face is more important than the clothes she wears on her back
Dale Carnegie